The forums have been archived and are now read only. Years of great info saved for your reading pleasure. Thank you! Visit us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NakedInvestor/ ×
The Naked Investor Forums
Andrew Ikeda

Stock Options vs. Lease Options?

Greetings Fellow Investors

I've been investing in the stock market for 2 years now and have totally enjoyed it.

I have yet to start in real estate investing but will in March when I return back to the US from Korea. The potential in l/o's really excites me.

Well, I was reading a book called "A Random Walk Down Wall Street" by Burton G. Malkiel and he was trashing the late night real estate gurus! I'm so happy Michael is not one of them!! :wacko: (No offense meant Michael) As you will notice, Michael is very prompt and straight with answers. He's so prompt it amazes me!!

Anyways, the author goes on to state that bank deposits are the safest way to invest. It got me to thinking how ridiculous investing in securities and banks really are. This book was informative but not very educational except in the fact that the stock market is unpredictable...so what's new, eh?

Earlier this year, I got interested in stock options and 'calls' and 'puts' and the various and complex methods used with these kinds of investments.

To me, a lease option is similar or like a 'call' option in stocks. You buy low and sell within a short period of time for a higher price..or so we plan.

The 'put' option works just the reverse in that you sell high now and then buy later when the stock drops in price/value. What I am wondering is if there is something of an equivalent with real estate investing...be it l/o's, flipping, wholesaleing, whatever? Is there a method for making or preserving cashflow or capital while real estate prices drop?