The forums have been archived and are now read only. Years of great info saved for your reading pleasure. Thank you! Visit us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NakedInvestor/ ×
The Naked Investor Forums
Guest Craig S - CA

Cooperative Assignment

Guest Craig S - CA

I've been investing in foreclosures for several years, and using the same lawyer the entire time. He is a savvy long-time investor himself and has done lease options and foreclosure investing himself. I called and explained that I will be getting into Cooperative Assignments and explained it to him. He basically told me he wants no part in even reviewing the contracts because he is so sure there will be legal problems.

He basically said that you are putting 2 parties together that have no idea what they are doing and hoping they will close once it's time to exercise the option. When it falls through, they will get together and look at the wreckage of the deal and figure out that the only one that made money on the deal is that slick investor.

This scared me, because my attorney is a risk taker normally. If you consider that only 25% of these deals close, there are likely to be some people who feel 'screwed over' at the end of the deal. I appreciate the fact that there is a paper trail making a case that what I'm doing is legal, but the courts look at the essence of what my intentions were and what I actually did. I also appreciate the recommendations of others on this board that you stay involved and 'offer to help' them close, but if I keep contacting these people asking if they need help with anything or keep coaching them, I fear that this will actually work against me because it implies that I still have an interest in this transaction going smoothly when I'm trying to create a case that my obligations and interest in the transaction ended the second I assigned the contract.