The forums have been archived and are now read only. Years of great info saved for your reading pleasure. Thank you! Visit us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NakedInvestor/ ×
The Naked Investor Forums
Sign in to follow this  
ShaneMcKenna

Lease to buy option for my first home

I went yesterday and looked at a house. They are asking $159,900. It’s a real nice house.

I’ve been in the house before, I used to know the person who rented from the lady a few years back. I’ve always liked the house and just recently she put it up for sale. She is asking 160. Whether we get it for that or lower isn’t my question. I’ve been looking for a house for a while, but I’ve been telling myself I’m not in the market for 6 months to a year. I was over at a friend of the families’ house last night and he said if I really want that house, he’ll buy it. I can rent it from him for a year with the option to buy. Can I get some more information on leasing with the option of buying for my first home? I am under the impression I pay all the mortgage, and utilities. Do I pay the property tax or does he? I’d assume I do, because I don’t know why he would want to be out the $200 a month. What about home repairs? He is doing me a favor; I just don’t want to see this get messy. He is going to take out a home equity loan, and get the house for me now. So I will be paying him $900 a month “rent” and if I decide to buy, which I am planning on doing it will go towards the down payment and principle right?

Say we get the house for $150,000, @ 6% that comes to $900 a month. I wanted to be around $700-$800 a month. Can I give him $15,000 to put down on the house now? That way we would only finance $135,000 and the mortgage would be $800 a month. Then when I buy a year from now the $15,000 I put down goes to him and I only finance $135 then? Sorry if this is really confusing you, it’s just real new to me and I want to get as much information as I can.

Thank you,

Shane McKenna

Hi Shane,