The forums have been archived and are now read only. Years of great info saved for your reading pleasure. Thank you! Visit us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NakedInvestor/ ×
The Naked Investor Forums
dretke

Lease Purchase Strategies

HI,

I'm a novice investor trying to find my niche. Lease Purchase seems to be a good option. I have a couple of questions about the initial transaction. When negotiating with a seller, do you also pay an "option" fee like a TB would to you? ^_^

Also, what kind of research do you normally do on these types of deals? It would seem to be that there wouldn't be as much research needed.

Thanks.

Hello, dretke, and welcome to The Naked Investor. I hope you spend some time on our new boards. In the meantime, let's see if we can help you out...........

For starters, I agree that lease purchasing is an excellent way for a novice real estate investor to get started. It's not the only way, mind you, but it is one way where someone with little or no cash and experience can put together a deal or two and get on their way.

To answer your specific question, we may or may not pay any option money to the homeowner when we set up a lease purchase deal with them. Typically, I don't. My general rule of thumb is if I must pay some amount of option consideration I limit it to the equivalent of one month's rent. Even then, I don't pay the homeowner until I collect my option consideration from my tenant/buyer.

There are exceptions, of course. But for the most part the vast majority of deals we do will be nothing out of pocket. As an investor you should get used to that way of controlling properties through lease purchasing. If a homeowner is insisting on a large amount of cash, move on. There are other, more motivated sellers awaiting your help and problem solving abilities.

As for research, are you referring to comping out the value of a house?