The forums have been archived and are now read only. Years of great info saved for your reading pleasure. Thank you! Visit us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NakedInvestor/ ×
The Naked Investor Forums
Glenn(FL)

Question About Tenant/Buyer Obtaining Financing

Hey Everyone, I was wondering if someone could answer a question for me. Many years ago I was a realtor for about 7 years. Sold a lot of houses. I was aware of lease option investing and various other creative strategies back then. I remember at least a couple of times asking mortgage brokers something to the effect of " can you get this tenant/buyer a mortgage with just a lease option contract or do they need a purchase agreement"? I just remember, more than once that no mortgage broker will ever get the underwriter to approve the mortgage without a purchase agreement. Basically, just a lease option agreement will not do. I hope I get a yes to this. Anyone here ever see a tenant/buyer get a mortgage when they exercise their option and not have a purchase agreement? Are I not creating liability for myself if i do not inform the tenant/buyer from the begining that they may not be able to get a mortgage unless they have a purchase agreement and that the seller very well might not agree 3 years later when they excercise their option to sign a purchase agreement then. Could someone please clear this up for me. This is the only thing hanging me up. My freaking conscious.

Glenn, getting a purchase agreement is eventually a necessity. So when the t/b decides they want to exercise their option to purchase they can go an attorney or title company with their existing lease option agreement and have a purchase agreement drawn up off of that. Then they go to visit their mortgage guy and begin the financing process.