The forums have been archived and are now read only. Years of great info saved for your reading pleasure. Thank you! Visit us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NakedInvestor/ ×
The Naked Investor Forums

I am working on my first deal:) I have a owner that contacted me to sell her home ( I am a licensed FL realtor).

I want to give her other options such as a LO. We had the home appraised and it is $143,000. She paid $160,000 and owes $119,000. Her Monthly payments including escrow$1020.00

Market rent is $1100.

Home is vacant-she lives out of town. But she is not desperate. Said she wants to sell by Jan when she moves out of state. She just spent $10,000 doing rehab-so she told me.

I need help in structuring this, I am not sure if I want to sandwich or just get out and assign since this is my first deal and I am nervous. Can you give me some examples on what I should offer her and how do do this deal ?

Shelley

Hi, Shelly. Just so I'm sure, you aren't looking at this as an Agent but as an investor, correct?

In my opinion the numbers are a bit thin to do a sandwich lease. Almost zero monthly cash flow and minimal equity. That, combined with this being your first deal suggests you should approach this as a cooperative assignment.

With a $143K appraisal do you think you could make the argument to prospective tenant/buyers for a $149K option price on a 12 month deal? If need be, go with 24 months. Most tenant/buyers are always looking for the luxury and value of more time in exchange for paying a slightly above market price. The market rent of $1,100 will cover the homeowner's PITI, so that should keep her pleased.