The forums have been archived and are now read only. Years of great info saved for your reading pleasure. Thank you! Visit us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NakedInvestor/ ×
The Naked Investor Forums
happyardy

Buyers Agent/sellers Agent

Hello All,

I am a novice to the real estate field, (have done some reading but haven't started investing as yet).

I read somewhere that when a real estate deal is done using agents, the seller usually pays for the 6% commision and it is split between the seller's agent and the buyer's agent, (It could be that the brokers receive it and then they give their agents some part, but that is not my concern for this question).

If the seller is going to pay the commision on the sale price and the buyer agent/broker also receives his commission based on that, (3%), wouldnt it be that, the more I pay for the house, the more my agent, (buyer's agent) gets ? Why would he,(the buyer's agent) be interested in negotiating a good deal for me(the buyer)?

I can understand the role of a seller's agent since the more price he gets for his client, (seller), the more commission he gets.

Would my agent, (buyer's) also be secretly hoping that I pay the max. price for the house that I can afford ?

- Ardy

Yes! That's one of the reasons why having a buyer's agent do your negotiating for you is useless. It's called conflict of interest.

Hello happyardy, and welcome to The Naked Investor.

Good question. The official answer is that the buyer's agent is signing a document with the buyer, that he/she is representing you and your interests. This being the case, they are obligated to assist you in getting the property for the best possible price. Is this a guarantee? Of course not. But that's the design and intent of the setup.