The forums have been archived and are now read only. Years of great info saved for your reading pleasure. Thank you! Visit us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NakedInvestor/ ×
The Naked Investor Forums
Doug Pretorius (ON)

Your Approach to Sellers

20 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

I've been using "consultant" for a few months now. In my area, Realtors don't enjoy much prestige. I initially used "investor" but that seemed to scare people. They think investors are out to screw them over, I guess.

I'm not a realtor, nor do I manage properties.

I also don't plunk large amounts of cash down to purchase properties. So mark "investor" off.

I like to think I put deals together, assign contracts, and move on to the next deal.

Seeing "dealmaker" isn't on there, I voted "consultant".

I'll even use the word "consultant" during conversations, as it gives the impression

that I'm working with sellers/landlords, not against them...all the while, providing

information (for a price, of course). Has a better ring and is more welcome than "investor", in my opinion,

as it best fits what I do.

Here is my reasoning of not using the word consultant.

1st it makes you out to have some type of license that you do not have.

Some states acting like a consultant can hang you!

I have know problem with using words what I am. It is up front.

People like plain talk. No hidden agenda.

Just my opinion.

Here is my reasoning of not using the word consultant.

1st it makes you out to have some type of license that you do not have.

Some states acting like a consultant can hang you!

Last time I checked, there wasn't any type of consulting licenses to obtain.

A business license, maybe...but not a specified license just to consult.

If using the word "consultant" makes me out to needing some type of license, then all the